Delaware individual artist fellowship logo with images behind it

Delaware’s Individual Artist Fellowships recognize artists for their outstanding quality of work and provide monetary awards. Individual Artist Fellows are publicly acknowledged and benefit from the additional exposure to their work. Fellows are required to showcase their work in a public exhibition or performance, so we’ve set up a special section on for you to experience their work.

In 2024, the Division received work samples from 149 Delaware choreographers; composers; musicians; writers; and folk, media, and visual artists. The work samples were reviewed by out-of-state arts professionals who considered the demonstrated creativity and skill in each artist’s respective art form. Twenty artists were awarded fellowships in the following categories – one, Masters; ten, Established; and nine, Emerging. The twenty selected fellows reside throughout Delaware including Arden, Dover, Lewes, Long Neck, Newark, Rehoboth Beach, and Wilmington.

The work of the Fellows will be featured in a group exhibition, Award Winners XXIV, at the Biggs Museum of American Art, and will travel to CAMP Rehoboth and Cab Calloway School of the Arts.

2024 Masters Fellow


Mark Hagerty, Music: Composition, Wilmington


2024 Established Fellows


Maya Belardo, Jazz: Performance, Wilmington
David Burslem, Visual Arts: Sculpture, Arden
Lori Crawford, Visual Arts: Interdisciplinary, Dover
Richard Hill Jr., Jazz: Composition, Wilmington
Shakira Hunt, Visual Arts: Photography, Wilmington
Michael Kardos, Literature: Fiction, Rehoboth Beach
Victor Letonoff, Literature: Creative Nonfiction, Lewes
Rebecca Raubacher, Visual Arts: Painting, Rehoboth Beach
L.J. Sysko, Literature: Poetry, Wilmington
Trebs Thompson, Visual Arts: Crafts, Newark


2024 Emerging Fellows


Doug Cannon (Pultixima), Music: Composition, Wilmington
Samantha Facciolo, Literature: Fiction, Long Neck
Brandan Henry, Visual Arts: Works on Paper, Wilmington
Aaron Hoffer, Visual Arts: Painting, Dover
Mariano Mallia (Di Gabriele), Music: Contemporary Performance, Wilmington
Joyce Enzor Maust, Literature: Poetry, Dover
Jennifer Morrell, Literature: Creative Nonfiction, Wilmington
M. Amber Spivey, Dance: Choreography, Newark
Julieta Zavala, Folk Art: Visual Arts, Newark


2024 Honorable Mentions


Kari Ebert, Established, Literature: Poetry, Dover
Bronwen Hazlett, Established, Visual Arts: Photography, Dover
Virginia Lockman, Emerging, Visual Arts: Photography, Wilmington
Michael Tanis, Emerging, Visual Arts: Sculpture, Wilmington


Previous Artist Fellows by Year:

Meet the 2023 Fellows

2022 | 2021 | 2020 | 2019 | 2018 2017 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009

To contact an individual artist, please email or call: Roxanne Stanulis, Program Officer, Artist Programs and Services, or 302-577-8283.

The next deadline for Individual Artist Fellowship applications will be Thursday, August 1, 2024 by 11:59 p.m.


About the Fellowship

The Division offers fellowships in the artistic disciplines of choreography, folk art, jazz, literature, media arts, music, and visual arts. Artists’ work samples are reviewed by nationally recognized out-of-state arts professionals, considering both demonstrated creativity and skill in the art form.

The awards allow artists to pursue advanced training, purchase equipment and materials, or fulfill other needs that will help advance their careers.

The highest honor—the Masters Fellow—is reserved for those who meet rigorous criteria. Funding dependent, typically only one Masters Fellow can be awarded each year. Disciplines rotate every three years.

During the fellowship year, recipients are required to showcase their work in a public exhibit or performance in Delaware.

For more details about the Individual Artist Fellowship program, please visit the Grants for Artist page.